A criminal record carries with it the potential to have a lifelong impact on you, affecting where you can work, where you can live and which school you can apply to. Even a nonviolent crime, such as theft, can tarnish your reputation and result in a number of penalties that could leave you with expensive fines and time in jail or prison.
What Is Theft?
According to Nevada criminal statutes, there are several detailed definitions of theft, including:
- Controlling the property of another person with the intent to deprive that person of the property
- Using the property of another person without authorization
- Coming into control of lost or misdelivered property of another person without making reasonable efforts to notify the owner
- Knowingly drawing or passing a bad check
Consequences of a Theft Conviction
Nevada classifies its theft offenses according to the dollar value of the property involved. Below we’ll take a look at misdemeanor theft, category C felony theft, and category B felony theft and their consequences.
- Misdemeanor theft: If the theft involves property worth less than $250, it is considered a misdemeanor. A conviction carries a jail sentence of up to 6 months, a fine of up to $1,000, community service or a combination of these punishment options.
- Category C felony theft: Theft is considered a category C felony if the value of the property or services stolen is more than $250 but less than $2,500. Grand larceny of a motor vehicle is also a category C felony, regardless of the dollar value. An offender may be sentenced to state prison for a minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 5 years, as well as a fine of no more than $10,000.
- Category B felony theft: A category B felony theft is when the value of the property is $2,500 or more. Grand larceny of a firearm and participating in an organized retail theft ring are also category B felonies. If you’re convicted, you face a jail sentence of 1 to 10 years, and a fine of up to $10,000.
In addition to criminal penalties, a person who commits shoplifting may be civilly liable to the store owner for the retail value of the property, damages between $100, and $250, costs of bring the civil lawsuit and attorney’s fees.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for theft, please contact our Reno criminal defense lawyers at Viloria, Oliphant, Oster & Aman L.L.P. today. Call (775) 227-2280 or contact us online.